How do you check if a business name is taken in Kansas?

How do I register a trade name in Kansas?

Visit www.sos.ks.gov, then click Business Filing Center, then click Trademark/Service Mark Search. Registration of marks in Kansas is based on actual use of the mark in Kansas commerce.

Do you have to register a DBA in Kansas?

No. State law does not require or permit the registration or filing of DBAs or fictitious names.

Can you have a DBA in Kansas?

In Kansas, there is no state-level procedure for filing a DBA. However, depending on the location of your business, you may need to file a DBA with your city or county. Consult your local governmental authorities for more information.

Can an LLC have a DBA in Kansas?

Kansas does not require that sole proprietorships, general partnerships, corporations, limited liability companies (LLCs), limited partnerships (LPs), limited liability partnerships (LLPs), or out of state companies that regularly transact business in Kansas under a name different from their legal name, to file a DBA.

How much does it cost to trademark a name in Kansas?

What is the filing fee for a trademark/service mark registration? A. The filing fee for the application is $40. Please submit payment by check, money order, or credit card.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: How long do we have to keep business records?

How are LLCS taxed in Kansas?

Kansas’s corporation tax rate is a flat 4% of federal taxable income (with state-specific adjustments) plus a 3% surtax on taxable income above $50,000. The tax is payable to the state’s Department of Revenue (DOR).

What means entity status?

What is an entity status letter? It verifies whether or not an entity is in good standing with us and provides certification for: Legal status in court proceedings. An outstanding liability that could have an effect on an entity’s credit rating (e.g., the closing of escrow).

How do I get an EIN number in Kansas?

Kansas New Employer Registration

Register online as a new business. You will receive your Tax ID Number immediately after completing the registration online. After 3-5 business days, call the agency at (785) 368-8222 to receive your filing frequency.

What is a business entity ID number Kansas?

Q: What is the business entity ID number? A: Your business entity ID number is an identification number assigned to each business entity registered with the Secretary of State’s office. If you don’t know your business entity id number, please perform a business entity search.

Are bylaws required in Kansas?

Kansas does not require bylaws to be written or filed with the state.

Who is required to file a Kansas annual report?

If you are a corporation, LLC, or partnership conducting business in Kansas, you must pay $50 to file an annual report every year.

What is business entity ID number?

An Employer Identification Number (EIN) is also known as a Federal Tax Identification Number, and is used to identify a business entity. Generally, businesses need an EIN. You may apply for an EIN in various ways, and now you may apply online.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How many types of business accounts are there?